18
Aug
11

Post 3-My use of Web 2.0 Tools

Dear Readers,

Well, its time for my third blog post as an Enterprise 2.0 consultant (a technical term) and this week, I want to share some of my personal experiences in using some of the Web 2.0 tools that you, my readers, might be familiar with. Tools such as wikis, podcasts, vodcasts and even social networking sites such as Twitter and our beloved Facebook are all considered Web 2.0 tools-that is tools that we can use to generate and share our own content. Tools that are a part of this shift from just reading content generated by others to generating our own content and sharing it with others.

However as many of you will have correctly noted, I’m not just studying web 2.0 but also Enterprise 2.0-the whole notion of these very tools being used in a business setting and allowing us as individuals and professionals to more easily and effectively get our work done. That’s what the evolution of sites like Twitface and Yammerpedia have done haven’t they? They have enabled us to get our work done and to be more productive. Web 2.0 tools don’t just mean that we can share our own ideas but we can also get ideas from others. Web 2.0 tools mean that if we have a problem we can just go and search for a solution on the internet or ask a question to a colleague or wider audience and get what is usually an almost instantaneous response. We also get that response in a language we can understand and make sense of. Web 2.0 tools mean we aren’t just limited to whatever answers we can find in that dusty old encyclopedia down the back of the library but potentially we can get our answers from whoever is hooked up to the interwebs (and there are currently an estimated 1.8 BILLION internet users) and we can usually get our answers and solve our problem or complete our work in less time than it takes to drive to the local library!

Now at this point I have to classify myself: I have had experience with many web 2.0 tools however I have not had LOTS of experience with any of them and this is where my argument begins to waver. This week I have been introduced to business-focused social networking site Yammer while still coming to terms with my organisation’s  Encyclopedic wiki. Yammer is essentially Facebook with elements of professional profile site LinkedIn while our wiki is seen as the first port of call for finding an answer to any IT problem that comes up. While I have no major issue with these websites and think that overall they are a good thing, I do notice that (based on experiences with sites like Facebook) as these sites get bigger and bigger, it is easier and easier to get lost in the information they do or don’t provide and they tend to fix things that aren’t broken in the first place. I’m sure Facebook chat is a good thing but why do the cronies in Facebook’s offices have to change the way it works so often???? I’m sure my office wiki will give me the answers I need but why do I need to sift through pages and pages of information when just asking someone is quicker and easier and will often give me a more direct answer???

Anyway, this post has gone on for long enough and I hope I’ve been able to comment on and make points for both sides. I love the idea of using web 2.0 tools like Yammer to ask a question of my colleagues and get a response even when we aren’t in the same room but at the same time, IT doesn’t appeal to everyone and my local GP isn’t much good to me if he’s had to study a bachelor of IT  to navigate a website instead of studying medicine to diagnose that funny lump behind my ear……….

Well, the rant is over and suddenly I feel much lighter.

That’s a wrap……

🙂

PS: Here are links to Yammer and LinkedIn

5 Responses to “Post 3-My use of Web 2.0 Tools”


  1. 18/08/2011 at 11:11 pm

    Nice interesting read, Richard. I gotta say I REALLY agree with is your point on these social media sites always trying to improve upon their services unnecessarily! Not sure I’ve heard of Yammer, I think I might look into it

  2. 18/08/2011 at 11:13 pm

    WAIT, I HAVE NO IDEA WHY I CALLED YOU RICHARD :S

    sorry 😛

  3. 23/08/2011 at 2:41 pm

    I agree with your point about sites getting more popular & fixing things. However, I guess everyone just eventually gets used to it

  4. 28/08/2011 at 12:42 pm

    I’ve never heard of Yammer before, how was your experience with it? Do you think you will continue to use it? I think that Facebook has the potential to become a new contender in the search market, they already have access to so much of our information. It will be interesting to see how things develop in the next few years!

  5. 29/08/2011 at 11:18 pm

    I really like this post; especially “Enterprise 2.0-the whole notion of these very tools being used in a business setting and allowing us as individuals and professionals to more easily and effectively get our work done.”, and agree with your points on the ever increasing userbase of social networks and tools, but also the problems that come with large userbases. Looking forward to your next post!


Leave a Reply

Joe Lyons Twitter Feed

Categories

Most Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower


